twitter sharing button

Wahab names three batters to watch out for despite Australia snub

by Pakistan News
0 comment 0 views

Pakistan cricket team’s chief selector, Wahab Riaz, has identified three promising batsmen who are on the national team’s radar despite being left out of the current lineup for the upcoming Test series against Australia.

Sahibzada Farhan, who topped the run-scoring charts in domestic cricket, has caught the attention of the chief selector. 

While talking in the presser for the announcement of national team’s squad, Wahab clarified that the top-order is well-settled at the moment, with no immediate plans for changes. Farhan remains a potential inclusion should the need arise, demonstrating the selectors’ forward-thinking approach.

“Sahibzada Farhan was the leading run-scorer but our top-order is set currently. So, he is in our radar only if the need arises,” Wahab said.

Another name in contention is Mohammad Huraira, who could find a place in the middle-order if opportunities open up.

“Similarly, with Mohammad Huraira, we will add him if there is space in the middle-order,” he further added.

Haseebullah is the third batsman highlighted by Wahab, acknowledging the player’s potential and revealing that he has been closely monitored by the selection committee. Despite the interest in Haseebullah, the current stability of Mohammad Rizwan and Sarfaraz Ahmed in their respective roles has led the team to maintain its current lineup.

“Haseebullah has been in our radar too and we have our eyes on him but currently, both Mohammad Rizwan and Sarfaraz Ahmed have done well so we will be continuing with them. We will, of course, tap into the domestic resources whenever the need arises,” he concluded.

Pakistan squad for Australia Tests: Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Australia tour schedule:
•    Four-day match: PM’s XI vs Pakistan – December 6-9: Manuka Oval, Canberra
•    1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium
•    2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
•    3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)