Pakistan T20 captain Babar Azam plays a shot in a match against New Zealand. — AFP/File

PCB unveils match officials for upcoming T20I series

by Pakistan News
0 comment 0 views

Pakistan T20 captain Babar Azam plays a shot in a match against New Zealand. — AFP/File

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Saturday unveiled the match officials for the forthcoming Pakistan versus New Zealand five-match T20I series series scheduled to kick off on April 18 in Rawalpindi.

The officials’ panel led by Andy Pycroft, a member of the Emirates International Cricket Council (ICC) elite panel of match referees, includes Aleem Dar, Asif Yaqoob, Faisal Afridi and Rashid Riaz.

The development comes as the Green Shirts will take on the Black Caps in five T20I matches of which three will be played in Rawalpindi, while the rest of the two games will be played in Lahore with the series culminating on April 27.

Earlier this week, the PCB announced the much-awaited 17-member national squad for the upcoming home series.

Pacer Mohammad Amir and all-rounder Imad Wasim, who recently reversed their retirement, have made a comeback in the squad for the series.

Meanwhile, Usman Khan and Muhammad Irfan Khan will debut for the national side. The two highly talented players earned the selectors’ nod following impressive performances in the recently concluded ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League.

Babar Azam will lead the team in the five-match series after his reinstatement as white-ball skipper.

Meanwhile, the host, led by Michael Bracewell, have suffered a major blow after Finn Allen and Adam Milne were removed from the squad following the injuries sustained during training.

Match fixtures and officials

18 April – First T20I. Ahsan Raza and Aleem Dar (on-field umpires), Faisal Afridi (third umpire), Rashid Riaz (fourth umpire); Andy Pycroft (match referee)

20 April – Second T20I. Asif Yaqoob and Aleem Dar (on-field umpires), Ahsan Raza (third umpire), Faisal Afridi (fourth umpire); Andy Pycroft (match referee)

21 April – Third T20I. Ahzan Raza and Asif Yaqoob (on-field umpires), Rashid Riaz (third umpire), Aleem Dar (fourth umpire); Andy Pycroft (match referee)

25 April – Fourth T20I. Faisal Afridi and Rashid Riaz (on-field umpires), Asif Yaqoob (third umpire), Ahsan Raza (fourth umpire); Andy Pycroft (match referee)

27 April – Rashid Riaz and Faisal Afridi (on-field umpires), Aleem Dar (third umpire), Asif Yaqoob (fourth umpire); Andy Pycroft (match referee)

Squads for T20 2024

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Irfan Niazi, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan, Zaman Khan, Usama Mir.

New Zealand: Michael Bracewell (c), Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Zack Fowlkes, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi.

You may also like

Pakistan Live News
Pakistan’s Most Trusted, Source of News. Pakistan Live News is Pakistan’s most trusted website for breaking news and key developments.


Latest News

@2022 – Pakistan Live News – All Right Reserved.